Sportsperson Endorsements

From Yahoo news:

Cricket legend Glenn McGrath has joined with a group of scientists calling for a new strain of calicivirus to be introduced to kill rabbits. Rabbits cost Australia’s agriculture sector around $200 million a year while also wreaking havoc on native flora and fauna, the federally-funded Invasive Animals Cooperative Research Centre (IACRC) says.

“During my cricketing career I’ve had to deal with pests all over the world,” McGrath said.

“Mainly greedy batsmen who have dug their heels in and refused to budge from the crease.

“But none of those cricketing foes caused anywhere near as much damage as what the rabbit has inflicted on Australian soil.”

You may think this is a strange endorsement, but Glenn McGrath is not the first high-profile sportsperson to champion a scientific initiative…

Shaquille O’Neal: “I’ve scored a lot of points in my time, but one thing you don’t want to score is cervical cancer. Get vaccinated from cervical cancer today… and protect your cervix.”

Michael Phelps: “I’ve swum a lot of laps in my career, but if there’s one thing that I don’t want in my lap, it’s an unwanted child. When you’re thinking of terminating an unwanted pregnancy in the first 49 days of pregnancy, (up to 63 days in Britain and Sweden), think Mifepristone.”

Usain Bolt: “I run a lot. But when I get the runs, I use Imodium. Imodium, so I can run without getting the runs.”

John Daly: “I don’t know what the hell Streptococcus pneumoniae is, but I sure as shit don’t want it… that’s why I got the Pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine. C’mahn… even big, fat moody bastards like me get vaccines.”

David Beckham: “For too long, bears have been terrorizing the forests of England. That’s why I’m supporting the Labour Party’s bear-culling initiative. Stop the bears before they eat your face.”

Lou Richards: “Where are my Depends?”

Leave a comment

Filed under Humour

Leave a Reply

